1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Brooks Flyer Saddle

BrooksFlyer Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(8%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Timeless Classic Quality
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

My first full sized bike in the 1960s (I am a dinosaur) had a Brooks Flyer Saddle, and every bike since until the 1990s when alternate synthetic saddles surfaced. I tried the one that came with my full suspension Gary Fisher Sugar 3+ for about 10 years, then decided to switch back to a Brooks Flyer when the saddle developed a rough spot after I took a digger. There was no comparison and no switching back. Even on a full suspension top of the line mountain bike, I could tell the difference. You can also buff damage off of leather, something you can't do on a synthetic saddle. I now regret using the other saddle for so long.

Lesson learned, I just put one on my new Trek Farley fat bike, and I actually read and still remember the simple directions that came with this new saddle. Brooks mentions a break in period, after which comfort improves. I have not noticed this. The Brooks Flyer Saddle improved my ride the day I put it on, and 1000 miles later, I can't tell the difference between new and broken in. Maybe you just can't improve the quality of a Brooks Flyer right out of the box. Maybe I truly am just a hard ass.

Reviewed 3/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic
rating
by Anonymous
hawaii

I love brooks saddles!! This is my second seat since 2004. no break-in period necessary. They are durable adjustable saddles that go the distance. Need a cool saddle? No problem.

Reviewed 11/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT SEAT
rating
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
West Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This saddle may not be for everybody. Takes some initial breaking in, but the time and effort was worth it for me. Just a little saddle soap to soften the leather, then after a few miles, comfort like never before. Bought one each for my son and daughter.

Reviewed 2/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first Brooks. So far so good. Easier to get used to than I expected. No miracles... yet.
rating
by NonFiction Media
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, USA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the saddle hoping to alleviate numb bits syndrome. I don't ride a ton (can I be both a cycling enthusiast and a casual cyclist?), but enough that I want to be comfortable. This is a big improvement on my previous saddles, and it's more comfortable than I thought. I'm a big guy (240) and this saddle seems to be giving a bit of sag in the middle. Might need to tighten it just a bit?

Reviewed 6/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superb saddle for touring or more casual riding
rating
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia

I've been cycling for well over fifty years now, almost all of it on road racing frames (with Brooks B17 saddles for the past 10 years). But I have an older Cannondale touring bike that I use for local gravel and dirt trails, shopping trips, bad weather, etc. I finally put a Brooks Flyer with springs on it about five years ago and could not be more pleased with the comfort and durability, despite the small bit of extra weight. I just wish I had had the Flyer 20 years ago when I was living in Europe and riding (for fun, not racing) on the famed cobblestone roads of the Classics.

Go, Brooks!!

Reviewed 3/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
rating
by CJfreeman
Denver
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Have three B17s, on a Kona Touring, Lynsky Gravel bike at a Fat bike. This saddle is the best on long rides, 50 miles plus. First, its long saddle with 2 or 3 places to perch depending on whether you're on hoods, drops, areos, etc. Second the stiffness is adjustable, this means a little tinkering as the saddle ages and stretches, but also a little adjustment during a long day. Finally the springs, a source of endless deresion from the spandex crowd, they really absorb aging concrete seams and other jolts. Best seat ever.

Reviewed 10/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best upgrade imaginable.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN

I'm a long time fan of Brooks saddles, having a vintage B72, B66, and Imperial on other bikes. I recently purchased a VanMoof S3 eBike and the factory saddle felt like it was made of concrete. The Brooks Flyer was the perfect upgrade. After about five rides the saddle is broken in and my @ss will outlast the bike battery. : )

Reviewed 3/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing! Should have purchased one decades earlier.
rating
by alii1959
Cycling Enthusiast
Augusta, Ga

After years of readinghearing other people praise their Brooks saddles, I finally got enough ahead to buy my own. Cannot describe how this has changed my cycling. After nearly 500 miles indooroutdoor riding the seat has molded to me. I no longer even think about the saddle I am sitting on. It allows all the control without any of the issues the previous saddles created. The springs on this saddle are perfect. Somehow the engineers were able to create it in such a fashion that it soaks up all but the worst bumps, and yet still lets you know I hit something without the associated pain. Because of my Brooks saddle my bicycle has become my go-to exercise platform.

Reviewed 3/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I always wanted a Brooks saddle
rating
by Anonymous
Bisbee, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I could never afford a Brooks saddle until now. I value it so much that I have it secured it with a lock and cable. I can't believe that I lived without it. I'm saying goodbye to those other bike seats, forever. Thanks a bunch.

Reviewed 8/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
it took me 30 years....
rating
by you''re that guy?????
Cycling Enthusiast
central colorado
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

been breaking it in slowly and i won't call you shirley....i'm planning on a 6600 mile tour to celebrate the 30 years i've been bike touring, and finally stepped up to the best rated saddle in the world. first day of breakin period i felt that this is an awesome saddle. so when i start my longest tour in middle of may, it should be broken in and by the end of 6600 miles, it should part of my anatomy.... i'm riding from virginia to oregon, down the west coast to san francisco back to my house in colorado....

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable ride
rating
by Bill
Phoenix, AZ
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this originally for my touring bike, and ended up putting it on my hardtail mountain bike. This saddle provides a comfortable ride with a little bounce, especially since I don't gave full suspension.

Reviewed 3/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful and Practicle
rating
by Hoosier Al
Cycling Enthusiast
Mishawaka, IN
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

While I haven't yet ridden my bike with this saddle on it yet (Midwest winters , are too cold for me to ride), I found the workmanship impeccable, with all the classic style that one would expect from the Brooks company. I am looking forward to getting this on my bike and beginning the breaking in process so the saddle is nice and comfortable for this years tour. Take time to look closely at the Brooks line up I believe you will see the difference.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well made and comfortable
rating
by Stsringreen
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, Az.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Best saddle I've used....got another for my other bike

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Thing of Beauty!
rating
by 1alto
Casual Cyclist
Texas

We have a 1969 Schwinn Deluxe Twinn and wanted a saddle to go along with the charm of the old tandem bike. I am so pleased. They saddles not only look great but are going to be so comfy with use.

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy saddle
rating
by Beachbiker52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California

I have several Brooks saddles. This one is the most comfortable one yet. It seemed broken in on the first ride. It's heavy, but I can't really tell it on the touring bike. My only complaint is the nuts holding the springs to the saddle come loose easily. I lost one nut on the first long ride. I love this saddle.

Reviewed 12/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far... Hard as a Brick!
rating
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Petersburg, FL
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the B17 for my Jamis Commuter. I knew there was a break-in period but, because I don't use the bike that often (maybe every once a week or two) my experience of the saddle on my tenth ride is, so far, the same as on my first ride... hard as a brick!

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the leather
rating
by Steve
Iowa

Still technically in the break-in stage. But, 200 miles in I love it. I've applied baseball glove break in twice top and underneath and the seat is gaining pliability.

Reviewed 10/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A B17 with shocks. I love it!
rating
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Petersburg, FL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Long time B17 fan. I have two on two different bikes. Thought I'd try springs since I'm now over 50. I love it!

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic Brooks saddle with suspension
rating
by Looseheadset
Colorado
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a saddle that you can ride all day and it only gets more comfortable with time in the saddle. Legendary quality workmanship.

A saddle that you will never think about during the ride...its that comfortable.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic product
rating
by Dan Ames
San Francisco
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Finally finished building a touring bike and finished with this. Wish I had started here as it was a lot comfier than my old saddle. Springs definitely add security if you hit a bump or something when you are busy watching traffic. Happy rear end happy life.

Reviewed 1/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.