1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(93 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(79)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(85%)
(13%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Fantastic - by far my favorite saddle
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
florida
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Hi, I labored over choosing a saddle. Bottom line, I have extensive issues with surgery in the lower region (use your imagination). I was very concerned over saddle selection because of so much scaring. With this saddle no part of the saddle is able to make its way up into you rear end and irritate you. Only your rear bones touch the saddle. Exactly what I needed. I was unable to ride around the block with a Selle San Marco without irritation. I did 30 miles yesterday on my Brooks B17 without even thinking about my rear end or the saddle. Also, there is no numbing the groin area.

Negatives the saddle is hard and not light. But I think the design is what makes it work. The weight penalty is worth the ability to ride without issue. This will be the only saddle I use for the remainder of my cycling years.

Reviewed 9/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Great Saddle that lives up to its stellar reputation.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Best saddle for touring. Solid, yet comfortable. It requires some maintenance since it is leather. With a Super price & quick delivery from Westernbike Bike Works, this deal made my day!

Reviewed 8/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks B17 standard saddle
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
New London, CT
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic iconic product! Everything it's supposed to be!

Reviewed 4/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
so so so beautiful, a perfect gift!
rating
by gretchen lee
Cycling Enthusiast
lexington ky
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

got this for my girlfriend's xmas gift. she was stunned. we are both avid cyclists (daily commuters) and appreciate the timeless beauty & comfort of the brooks saddle. color is dead on jolly rancher apple green, starting to fade to olive.

Reviewed 2/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big Surprise
rating
by allwaysbybike
Cycling Enthusiast
New York NY
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a B-17 for my single speed to give it a more retro look. I had a team professional as a kid on my Raleigh Professional MKIV but took it off, too hard and never seemed to break in.

I bought the B-17 because of all the great reviews and figured I'd give Brooks another try.

OMG right out of the box with ZERO break in it was comfortable. I think the fact I'm no longer a 150 lbs skinny teenager helps. Now at 190lbs I felt the seat immediately start to mold. I can't wait to see how it feels a few 100 miles from now. I think I'll replace the saddle on my road bike with a Brooks Swift. Go ahead buy one!

Reviewed 8/12/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic defined
rating
by Sisyphus
Cycling Enthusiast
Amherst. MA

This saddle has been in existence for how many years? It will extend your endurance to sit and pedal all day. It can only be improved if Brooks increased the leather thickness and quality like they once had prior to the 80's.

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazingly comfortable!
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Super comfortable. why did I wait so long?!

Reviewed 11/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Support beats all
rating
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect touring saddle.
rating
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I was Wrong! Low Tech is Better
rating
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have literally have spent hundreds of dollars on bike saddles over the past several years! I have put off buying a saddle that was born over 100 years ago, because I thought high tech must be better. Wrong! From day 1 the Brooks B-17 was comfortable, even though there is no padding. Currently, I'm averaging 180 to 200 miles per week, on an indoor trainer or roads and the Brooks continues to feel better every time I ride.

I have tried the other well known leather saddle, it was OK, however, the cutout was causing major wear on my bibs. A big plus for the Brooks they are guaranteed for 2 years and ten if you register the saddle.

But it's not all Roses: The saddle requires a 20 deg setback seat post for most riders. (Short rails). Leather Brooks Saddles should not get soaked with water and needs a cover. And lastly, you should purchase from Proofide (conditioner) to use to break-in and semi-annual treatments when you purchase the saddle.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saddle up with this one
rating
by Martin
Inlet beach, Florida

My first B17 Brooks saddle was purchased over 20 years ago and used on my road bikes and touring bike for at least 90,000 miles so when it finally broke I really missed it. I ordered another one and after a brief break-in I am happy to say that it is just like the first one. Not only does it look classy on my mountain bike but it is a very comfortable saddle of all the ones that I own. Try one, you will love it.

Reviewed 3/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing beats a classic
rating
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu

Broke in easily after a few rides. Note that the saddle comes with a small packet of Proofide , even to get you through the break in period. But you will probably want more for long term maintenance.

Reviewed 12/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks B17 best for touring &� road
rating
by Ted
Pacific Northwest

OK, disclaimer: I'm 70. I've used the B17 on my touring bikes for years. Now I have one for my carbon fiber road bike, too. Smooth

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks B17 Saddle is the best I've ever put my butt on!!
rating
by WWFeltrider
Casual Cyclist
Long Beach, Ca.

I ride a Felt 2sp Burner bike 40+ miles a week. I finally replaced my original saddle with this Brooks 17. Only thing I regret is not replacing it long ago! Must comfortable saddle one can ride with!

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The B17 is hard to beat
rating
by dogbreath
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

I've tried a lot of saddles, but I always come back to Brooks, and the B17 is tops - sturdy, comfortable, and durable. I've put 1000s of miles on Brooks saddles, and this most recent purchase was for a new bike in the quiver. It's every bit the quality I expect.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Usually a great deal, but....
rating
by Scott
Daily Commuter
San Francisco

I found what I thought was a great deal - a replacement for my worn out and retired Brooks saddle at a lower price point than my first Brooks bike seat. The lower cost was a result of the pandemic, so I had to wait months for the new saddle, but it arrived and was great...except one rivet was out of alignment and gave me a saddle sore. I guess the factory was still getting back into order when they made and shipped this Brooks saddle.

Reviewed 6/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just as Good as Ever!
rating
by Stuart
Casual Cyclist
Western Virginia

In an era when so many consumer goods are plagued with diminished quality, it is most refreshing to review the B17 saddle. I first rode on Brooks in 1971 and have had Brooks saddles on various bikes over the years. This 2021 version is every bit the great quality of craftsmanship and material that has been the norm over the last 50 years even with the several different owners of the Brooks brand.

Reviewed 5/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE saddle to have for every kind of ride.
rating
by Dave
Tomball, Tex.

I'm just a few months shy of seventy but still, due to circumstances, get in a thirty mile ride most nights. Renewed hobby. I've built up road, mountain, and hybrid bikes and absolutely love the fit of a Brooks saddle. The only considerations are weight and position. Not good if you're after every gram or if you don't have a set back seat post to compensate for the saddles short frame.

Reviewed 3/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Saddle! Unbelievable Quality
rating
by Texas Redfish
Cycling Enthusiast
Sugar Land Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have several on all of my road bikes. Never had a more comfortable saddle.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.
rating
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.