FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Bike Peddler Take a Look Cyclist Mirror

Bike PeddlerTake a Look Cyclist Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(109 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(78)
(23)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(72%)
(21%)
(4%)
(3%)
(1%)
Previous Page
I never ride without this mirror.
rating
by Endurance biker
Cycling Enthusiast
South Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Other reviews explain all the great points about this mirror. I mount mine on my glasses and never notice any weight or other comfort issues. It is easy to remove after biking. I'd think helmet mounting would expose the mirror to much impact when tossing the helmet around after biking.

Reviewed 3/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Inexpensive mirror, works pretty well
rating
by whereizben
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

Only complaint is that the arm is very short, so you must position it exactly right

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product that enhances safety
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I use this in group rides and in traffic. Good to know when being overtaken by vehicular traffic, good to keep an eye on people riding behind you. Can't see off the opposite side unless you put a second mirror there, though. Easy to adjust while riding, can be a little tricky to fit some glasses (e.g., those with very thin or oddly shaped ear pieces), but pretty adaptable.

Reviewed 3/30/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
durable and easily adjustable
rating
by kimbo305
Casual Cyclist
Cambridge, MA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've been commuting more and more on my bike, so I decided to stop snapping my neck looking over my shoulder and get a mirror. I got the compact model, trying to get the lightest one. I have thin painted metal arms on my glasses, but the mirror's 3 point mount had no problem squeezing onto the arm. There's a left-right adjustment and an up-down adjustment. I'm sure you can set it up to get the angle you like. I have mine set so that I still look to my left maybe 20 degrees to see straight behind me. I figure that way, cars will still see that I'm checking.

The brass sleeves that let you do the adjustment are tight, so that once you make an adjustment, they don't slip. I've dropped the mirror quite a few times and neither has anything scratched or broken nor has it come off adjustment.

The only complaint I have about it is still weight. I wear my helmet straps over my glasses, which I guess is not fashionable in some quarters. Between that and the limited range of angles my head is at when riding, my glasses sit fine. But if I need to get off and check my bike or otherwise look really far down, the weight of the mirror is enough to start dragging my glasses off my nose. I'm going on a bike tour soon and definitely plan to bring a croakie to secure my glasses.

If I lose or break this mirror, I'm definitely getting the same one again.

Reviewed 8/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After 30 years of riding this is my first mirror purchase and I couldn't be happier with it. Takes a while to get used to it and find a position that works, but once you figure out what works for you it becomes second nature to use it. Absolutely no issues with vibration or movement while riding. Biggest problem is moving it by accident when I forget I am wearing it and strike it with my hand or arm...operator error. Great tool for safer biking.

Reviewed 4/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My left eye is blind. This mirror is adjustable it's great for me, because I can't turn around far enough to see.
rating
by Ken Boyd
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just started riding with it. I had used another mirror type and so far I enjoy the large vision I get out of it.

I don't see out of my left eye and can't turn around far enough to see what's coming up on me.

Some riders think it is not cool but when your alternative is getting run over by a truck I will take not cool any day.

I hope over time it does not flop around and stays tight.

Reviewed 2/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Provides a large viewing area.
rating
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah, GA

The viewing area seems to be bigger than othe mirrors. It can be used on different glasses & is very mobile. There is a small learing curve in positioning the mirror. I like it better than mirrors attached to the helmut, which tend to fall off after some use.

Reviewed 12/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't Let Its Looks Fool You
rating
by SJ_BillyGoat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

First of all not only is it safer knowing what's behind you, it makes for more pleasurable ride. Imagine driving 100 miles in a car wo rear or side view mirrors. I know this thing looks something Benjamin Franklyn designed but it really works. Initially the wonky, archaic look of the mirror turned me off but later I discovered the genius of the design. It's super light, thin and highly adjustable due to all the moveable joints. At first it will feel a bit awkward having something jutting out in front of you but you'll soon get used to it.I also use their helmet mounting device. It's nice not having anything attached to your glasses. However the glue that came with it is worthless. I got around it by using tiny screws and Gorilla Glue. I'm giving it 4 stars because the 3 rubber friction padding that slides over the arm of the glasses tend to slip off.

Reviewed 12/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This mirror is stable and does its job.
rating
by Cliff B
Casual Cyclist
Monroe, NY

I attach this mirror to plastic frame safety glasses when I ride. It grips well and, once adjusted for view, stays in position over bumps. The field of view is fairly large and is effective for seeing overtaking vehicles and cyclists.

Reviewed 9/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mirror works fine, but I find I prefer the 3rd eye, you can fold it back when off the bike.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
N.E. Ia.
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If I stop to eat or shop, I take the Take a Look mirror off, the 3rd. eye folds back out of the way.

Reviewed 7/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wouldn't bike without one.
rating
by Trek57x
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have a Third Eye mirror and bought two of these for others. Really nice. I use it on my sunglasses and find both types equally useful, altho this one seems sturdier, classier, more like precision machinery than the plastic 3rd Eye. Not to deny that plastic has advantages in being rustproof. These have a big advantage over a mirror on the handlebars in that they point where you want them pointing, and an advantage over one attached permanently to a helmet, which will eventually get knocked off when the helmet's not being used.

Reviewed 4/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is THE MOST important safety bike safety item you will ever buy.
rating
by Bicycle Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas Hill Country
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

There is not another bike mirror out there that is as effective as the the TAKE A LOOK cyclist mirror. Tilt the mirror diagonally for a panoramic view of two lanes of traffic behind you, distortion free vision, early warning of that car in your lane in the city, alertness to that quiet vehicle hanging a little too close on that narrow country road, watch that last hill you just topped for the too fast, unable to safely pass car behind you, keep track of your slower fellow riders, don't run off the shoulder to look back, save your life with constant traffic alertness without taking your attention from the road in front of you.

I have been saved from incidents by my mirror MANY more times than I have every been saved by my helmet.

I give them to my foolish fellow cyclists who don't have one.

I even wear mine when sitting drinking that cold one at the end of the ride... no more 'back to the wall facing the door'.

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a great product for walkers.
rating
by walker
Casual Cyclist
Atlanta
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I love this product. I bought one several years ago. I used it when I walk for exercise on a bike and walking trail near my house. I would put it on a golf cap. I needed it because there are some stupid or uncaring bikers and joggers who seem to take delight in getting as close to you as possible when passing you without alerting you.

With this mirror I can see them coming and do not get startled when they pass so close. It has a high quality mirror and is easy to adjust right where you want it. I like the fact that it does not magnify and you see the real picture.

Unfortunately, I dropped mine and scratched the mirror. I immediately ordered two more so I will have a backup.

Reviewed 2/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functional and light weight
rating
by epbob
El Paso, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This mirror is infinitely adjustable and fits on my sunglasses very securely. If your glasses have a semi-round temple, it might not fit yours. The mirror is distortion free so you can clearly see what or who is approaching from behind you. I like the mirror on my glasses so I can look around behind me by turning my head, something you can't do with bar-end mirrors. I've used these for years and saw an opportunity to get some extras at half-price while they were on sale so I can share them with new riders or others looking for a mirror.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works ok but there are better solutions
rating
by Dan
Daily Commuter
Connecticut

I tried this after a good review in Bicycling, but I'm not crazy about it. It is stable on my cycling glasses. But I find it difficult to adjust, not especially convenient to look into, and a tight enough fit on the fairly thick temples of my glasses that it changes their shape. Since getting this, I've tried a bar end mirror that I can adjust the angle on and flips up when not in use, and I find that works better for me. Still, the price on this is great and might be worth a try if glasses or helmet-mounted rearview mirrors work better for you.

Reviewed 8/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Rear view Mirror
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Altos

I used to have a mirror on my Helmet and then I switched to the one that fits on the sun glasses and I cannot be happier. The Mirror is large enough to see traffic, moves with the head and does not obstruct. The only issue is it does not fold to go back in the case, which it was not designed for.

I would recommend this pair as a tool to see whowhat is behind you.

Reviewed 6/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lost without it!
rating
by Anonymous

I have used these road mirrors so long I keep extras in case I lose or break one. Sold one to a friend recently because he liked mine.

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only one I'll use...
rating
by TBplayer
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur, AL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Helmet or eyeglass mirrors take a little while to get used to, but once you do, you'll feel hindered by the limited view of the bike mounted ones. Tried several others but kept coming back to this one for ease of adjustment and stability.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Once you use it, it will be hard to ride without it
rating
by Jay (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
42 of 42 customers found this review helpful.

I started using a mirror as a ride leader for a local cycling group so I could keep an eye on cyclists behind me. Once I got used to it which really didn't take long, I felt I was missing a critical piece of cycling gear whenever I rode without one.

The regular version may be a bit too close to the eyes for most people since it blocks a lot of your peripheral vision. I find the extended versions works better.

The mirror slides onto the eyeglass temple pieces. Some eyeglasses, particularly the fancier cycling eyewear, have oddly shaped temple pieces that may make it difficult to mount these, so take this into consideration.

In general, I found the eyeglass mounted mirrors to be more effective than helmet mounted or bike mounted mirrors. Helmet mounted mirrors inevitably get dislodged since they are generally attached with simple adhesive. Bike mounted mirrors tend to vibrate too much for my taste, and don't have a wide enough view to get the full picture of what is behind you.

Reviewed 3/13/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very easy to set up and use
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Las Cruces NM

Setting it up and using it was fast and easy. works great!

Reviewed 12/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page