1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
Assos Active Wear Cleanser

AssosActive Wear Cleanser(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by jockdeboer

Awesome
rating
by jockdeboer
Competitive Racer
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just what i was looking for.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by D

The best
rating
by D
Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this to wash all my cycling clothes-it leaves them looking and smelling clean, the colors don't fade, and it seems to help them last longer (at least that's what I'd like to believe). A little goes a long way, and I like the large size because it lasts a couple months during cycling season.

Reviewed 8/9/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Frozone

Skeptical at first, now sold
rating
by Frozone
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA

I was initially put off by the price, thinking that primarily I'd be paying for the Assos brand name more than anything else. But I recently bought a bottle (on sale) and a bottle of Nathan's for a comparison.

I used up the entire bottle of Nathan's and wasn't satisfied because it didn't seem to get my bib shorts clean. (Machine wash delicate, cold water, extra rinse cycle, medium spin.) I do a fair bit of riding on the indoor trainer (about 6 hoursweek) so copious amounts of chamois cream are used. That makes it pretty easy to tell if they're not getting sufficiently cleaned. I tried everything with Nathan's including pre-treating the shorts. Didn't work.

Once the bottle ran out, I went to the Assos. I was sold after the first wash. Night and day difference. No lingering chamois cream, just a nice fresh scent. That day when I saw that it was on sale at Western Bikeworks I ordered another bottle. It'll be my go-to cleanser from now on.

Which still isn't to say I want to pay full price for it, but when it goes on sale....

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by UT Biker

Excellent cleanser
rating
by UT Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, UT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is great stuff-I like the large size that they sell on this site because I go through it fairly quickly during prime cycling season. It keeps my cycling clothes looking new, smelling great, and keeps them stretchy for longer than other detergents I've tried in the past. And this is all I use on my good exercise clothing-it makes them last longer and stay nice longer.

Reviewed 3/8/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Love this cleanser!
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My husband loves this cleanser for his biking clothes. Its gentle but effective and leaves the clothes smelling great. Weve been using it for years and highly recommend it.

Reviewed 1/22/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bobb

Peace of mind
rating
by Bobb
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe NM
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Seems to work, but how do you really know. Kit is still black and truly does not smell. Even works on non-Assos kit. So far (2 bottles), no issues with bibs etc wearing funny.

Reviewed 10/26/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gshb

Nice detergent
rating
by Gshb
Portland, OR

Subtle scent if not too much is used. Western is the best place to get this cleanser.

Reviewed 12/21/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great product
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Cleans great and takes away any odor

Reviewed 8/14/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Peti-Pop

If you have good cycling clothes, this is the cleaner to use
rating
by Peti-Pop
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A little pricey, but keeps your clothes brilliant and smelling great for years to come.

The only cleaner I use.

Reviewed 7/22/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Expensive, but worth it
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used the Assos cleaner about two years ago and loved it. I wasn't thrilled about the price though so I tried several other cleaners. But alas, I've come back to the best.

Reviewed 7/1/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ajlacombe

I love this stuff (
rating
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Loveland, Ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am sure most people will look at the price of this laundry detergent and think - what is wrong with this guy rating this as a steal as far as value - well, it is all relative. I am not sure what it is about the smell of this stuff but I love the smell and I love the way it cleans my Assos kit.

When you pour normal detergent into a washer - it takes a lot to get that soap out of the cup into the machine - even pouring in water it takes a while to get it out, then you have to wipe it out. The Assos cleanser is easily rinsed out with a bit of water - why does this matter? It is easy to rinse out of your clothes. I think it ends up with a better clean. None of the smells from riding remain after being washed and you are left with a great smelling piece of kit.

With my normal clothes detergent, I end up with residue on the clothes from time to time. If you buy the 1L size it is a lot more reasonably priced. I have been using this stuff for many years and would never consider using anything else at this point

Reviewed 1/12/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tmel

Great Soap
rating
by Tmel
Cycling Enthusiast
Clewiston Florida

Great laundry soap although a little on the pricey side. Been using once a week for about 5 weeks and I wash by hand in 2 buckets one soap one rinse, use 2 capfuls to about 3.5 gals of water and it seems to clean well and rinses out fully with 2 rinses.Normally wash 3-4 Castelli / Assos Bibshorts and 5-6 Castelli short sleeve jerseys and a lightweight cap and gloves per batch. All come out looking and smelling clean. Not much noticeable smell, makes you feel like you're cleaning not covering up odors and sweat. Ride 5-6 days a week, 22-28 per ride in Southern Florida ( hot and humid ) So cleaning out sweat is very important.My kits look and feel much cleaner and rinse out much easier that when I was using Tide detergent. I will keep using the Assos soap as long as it's available.

Reviewed 12/18/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bamicus

Really good
rating
by Bamicus
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Really good cleanser. Yes, it's expensive, but a little bit goes a long way. It seems to make everything softer for some reason.

Reviewed 8/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Timberwolve17

Nice, but not cheap
rating
by Timberwolve17
Central Tx
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

You paid big bucks for your Assos, Castelli, Rapha or other cycling gear right? Why would you shorten it's life with products that are inferior?

Your technical clothing provides you with pleasant features like sweat-wicking, saddle comfort etc. Unfortunately a number of those features are sensitive to detergents, and a lot detergents or their perfumes love to cling to your fabrics. Prior to this I hand washed with a detergent free cleanser. Time consuming and very expensive. Now I use lingerie bags, the delicate cycle and this wash. I don't notice any difference in function off my fabrics. Further, other anecdotes claim if your have been using normal tide, those stuff can help remove those aforementioned residues and restore your technical clothing to almost brand new.

I'll be purchasing this again, if you're paying for nicer clothes, treat them nice.

Reviewed 10/28/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Long Rider

Detoxed my Jersey's Armpits. Nice Scent
rating
by Long Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Victorville, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like the product. While hand-washing in the sink the 1st time, the water became slightly milky with a sheen on top - which I assume was all the residues from other detergents and borax I've tried to use to solve the acrid stench problem with my cycling jersey. I spike my Gatorade with Emergen-C, so my pits are a Superfund Site!

Dawn anti-bacterial dish soap works well too, and I like the Apple scented one, but I'm not sure Dawn won't damage the fabric over time, so this seems a reasonable expenditure if hand-washing (1 cap-full vs 2-3 in a machine).

It appears from the Material Safety Data Sheet that the anti-microbial agent used is Methylisothiazolinone, which is generally safe except that it is a powerful eye irritant. Google it.

Reviewed 7/31/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fallen Rider

The best and only detergent to clean you cycle clothing
rating
by Fallen Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Havertown PA

I've been using this product for years. All of my older clothing have held up well over the years and I attribute that to this product. It's very important to wash them in cold water. above all never use softener. Follow the directions on how much to use per wash load, not necessary to use more.

Reviewed 5/31/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Assos doesn't make a bad product
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
berkeley,ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

bike clothing fresh smell

Reviewed 1/21/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by calivendor

No Brainer investment in your Assos gear
rating
by calivendor
Cycling Enthusiast
Vallejo, CA

I’ve ridden Assos garments from 1998 and this cleanser keeps your gear looking and smelling like new

Reviewed 10/18/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerry

Now essential to my routine
rating
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida, US
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great product and now part of my daily routine. Immediately after my daily ride, my kit goes in for about a 15 minute soak with the active wear cleanser. A quick rince and hang to dry. My cycle gear is still in new condition after months of use.

I use it for all my lycra workout gear.

Highly recommend.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

excellent product & gentle on all cycling clothes
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

excellent product & gentle on all cycling clothes. Smells good too.

Reviewed 5/29/2014
Thank you for your feedback.